The latest information on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) is available on For USDOT-specific COVID-19 resources, please visit our page.


You are here

South Atlantic Gateway Office (Miami)

The South Atlantic Gateway region encompasses the southeastern United States and includes all or a portion of the states of South Carolina, Georgia, Florida (minus the panhandle), and the U.S. territories of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

This region includes 7 port authorities with 38 commercial deepwater and river ports and regional waterways, intermodal connections and corridors.

The Gateway Director serves as an expert on all regional and local maritime issues to include cruise and passenger services, disaster response/recovery, financing for port infrastructure, marine highway development, and support for American shipbuilding companies. In addition to coordinating with the private sector, the Director also serves as the Agency liaison to regional Federal, state and local government agencies.

Updated: Thursday, September 12, 2019